The mkiv Supra Owners Club

csa's engine rebuild

csa

Ok, I guess it's time to do a project thread.

As some of you know the car spun a shell back in september and has been in the darkness of the garage since.

I finally got around to install the lift in the garage last weekend, and so the job of removing the engine is beginning.

Had a few hours to spend this evening so I got the following stuff done (in order of apperance):

Removed headlamps

Removed the front end

Removed the hood

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/6738/img9161fc6.jpg

Dained the water

Removed breather system

Removed cooler, fan and slam panels

Removed IC piping with Bov and NOS kit

Removed fuelrail and injectors

Started removal of wiring harness

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/8458/img9162ri2.jpg

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/2052/img9163xl8.jpg

As this is my first time I'm taking an engine out of any car, this thread will also help me keeping track of things when I'm assembling it again. (hence all the tape markings on the wires)

So any recommendations would be appreciated :search:

• Replies 182
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My advice would be to leave the loom on the engine until it's removed, and just disconnect the engine loom in the LH foot well.

Spun a shell means the crank has fused to a bearing shell and instead of the crank pin turning within the shell bearing, the bearing shell has turned within its own housing, either con rod or main bearing housing. neither are good for engine or pocket.

My advice would be to leave the loom on the engine until it's removed, and just disconnect the engine loom in the LH foot well.

Spun a shell means the crank has fused to a bearing shell and instead of the crank pin turning within the shell bearing, the bearing shell has turned within its own housing, either con rod or main bearing housing. neither are good for engine or pocket.