The mkiv Supra Owners Club

UK & US Tuning

DARETT

I'm fairly new to the Supra fold, however have been involved with Skylines, Subaru's, Evo's etc for a very long time.

Now with the other car's there is a more or less a universal sort of tuning maximum throughout the globe on standard internals. You may get one or two anomalies however the consensus is uniformed.

Now one thing I have noticed with Supra's is the pretty big difference on how far US Owners/Tuners will take stock internal supra's up to, power wise, in comparison to UK Owners/Tuners.

From my research it seems that here in the UK anything above 650bhp it's recommended to uprate internals, however across the pond the consensus is that the standard block can take well up to 7-800 whp before you have to uprate. I know for sure that at least one guy has hit the 9's on standard internals, and the car was pretty reliable at that point.

Although I know the US hp figures can be a little dubious and more similar to our crank figures, however even then the difference is pretty big.

Is this down to us being a little more conservative on this side of the world, or have people gone out and actually seen how much the block can take before breaking.

Longevity is a factor, however I believe longevity for a big hp car should be around 5-6k miles per year.

Why do you guys think it is?

Are they tuning their car's any different or is it just down to them riding their luck?....

The yanks mainly use dynojet dynos which do read high when compared to our dyno's.

Id imagine they can handle that sort of power but for how long? with the sort of roads we have who wants a 1000bhp lag monster that only comes to life at silly speeds on big dual carriage ways and motorways? different if you are building a drag car.