The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Noddy Q's - Flat Battery

michael

I've just spent an hour or so fitting my new Philips bulbs (cheers Gaz) and drying out the inside of the headlamp on my UK Spec auto in an attempt to save £120 for a while.

Like a goon I had the lights on while doing the drying so that I could see what I was doing (outside house light was right in front of the car but for some reason I didn't bother with that) - anyway after some successful drying out (kitchen roll rolled up and inserted through the hole for the main beam bulb) I realised I'd been out longer than expected and when I tried to put the car window up it was very slow.

I realised the errors of my ways and luckily the car started and I've taken it out for a bit of a blast to get some power in the battery.

Anyway my near escape (I hope) raised a few questions that I was hoping for help with, having never had a flat battery I'm a bit of a novice so excuse me if this is really noddy!

1) From a flat(ish) battery how far would you need to drive to get enough charge in it to ensure it didn't go flat if left for 24 hours?

2) If the worst happened and you got a flat battery miles from home can you jump start an automatic car and if so how?

You need to be careful, jump starting with leads from another cars battery. I think some people say it might damage ECU's wipe RLTC memory etc. Using a booster battery like the AA use is the best. But bump starting is a no no.

I would say half an hour of driving would be enough to get the battery somewhere near good, depending if your driving with lights, heaters, and stero blasting..

Originally posted by Timwildman

You need to be careful, jump starting with leads from another cars battery. I think some people say it might damage ECU's wipe RLTC memory etc. Using a booster battery like the AA use is the best. But bump starting is a no no.