The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Hi all. Newbie looking for advice

Guest Sam004

Hello everbody.

My name is Sam and i am looking for a Supra n/a manual to upgrade from my modifed Trueno. I have had a small experiance with a late eighties supra n/a manual and i liked it alot.

Basically i would like to know what to look for when i veiw one. I am a mechanic so basics are coverd but is there anything else that I need to be aware of? Also what are the day to day living of them like i mean things like feul consumption (i am not expecting much :D) and general driving. I am also only looking for a n/a at the moment as i think that anyting turbo'd is going to be running before you walk so to speak. I am aware of 5spd and 6spd variants but im not sure on wich models had VVTI and wich didnt. Oh yeah who would you reccomend for insurance?

Thanks in advance

Hi Sam, welcome to the forum. VVTI is available on later NAs, but they are quite rare, the vast majority you find will be non VVTI.

I'd recommend trying an auto as well as a manual, as I have found the auto to be a better eveyday car and many people swear by them. If you definately want a manual they tend to start at about £3.5K for something tidy. You shouldn't need to spend any more than £5-6k to get yourself a really nice one.

Check out these guides for more info:

http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=60

Good luck with your search, J

I swore Id never have an auto but just take a test drive in one! I was converted by the experience. For 100% on the limit driving its not ideal, but when does anyone really do that? On a track?... Id totally get an auto. To be honest, apart from slipping the clutch to spin the wheels when you come away from the lights (without power braking and boiling the gearbox oil lol) theres no downside. Plus you dont look like a fanny!