The mkiv Supra Owners Club

RPS segmented flywheel

RobSheffield

flywheel type and happiness with it (multi choice)  

23 members have voted

1. 1. flywheel type and happiness with it (multi choice)

I've got the rps segmented flywheel and the rps stage 3 6 puck clutch which i've been running for about 2 years now and I think its great, never had a problem with it. Althought it does put a strain on the standard OEM parts if they are getting old. I just manage to snap the clutch release arm about a month ago.

ther is an increased noise but you get used to it

I aslo have the rps seg'd flywheel and 6 puck clutch.

It makes a terrible racket when the box is warm but the feel is good.

When i fisrt drove the car it was a pain to drive and always stalling.

Its still has its moments in traffic but quite drivable.

I would not run this clutch and flywheel combo if i was using it as a daily drive.

Pansies :D

I've got an OSG with a lightened flywheel and use it as an every day driver. I just walk round in circles now :)

Any aftermarket clutch to hold power is going to be stiffer and snappier than you're used to but you get used to it quickly. The flywheel doesn't make a world of difference to the driving experience but it will make it noisy and some people just can't put up with that. I'm still getting used to it.

I won't beat around the bush, with my OSG in the gearbox is incredibly noisy. If you put it under load, at 1300-1800rpm then it will sound exactly like somebody has just unloaded a spanner set in your gearbox and set it to '40C Fast Spin'!

If you do this up a road with high walls or buildings on either side then a worried look will appear on the face of yourself and anybody within a few hundred metres of your car..