The mkiv Supra Owners Club

American Evo VIII owner seeks Supra for return to UK.

kins

Hi,

I currently live in Chicago and drive an 03 Evo VIII. This is she...

I will be selling the Evo soon and moving back to the UK. However Evo's seem to be pricier back home and well Supra's hold less of a premium and I've always fancied one.

I've joined this forum hopefully to pick up some advice and make a few new pals.

Basically I've been looking on ebay and autotrader and there seems to be a very sparce offering of the type of supra I would like. Being a newbie I have vague idea of what sort of Supra I'd like when I make it home.

OK this is a mkiv supra forum so it's safe to say I want a mkiv.

I would like a UK car and not an import as I believe insurance is dearer on Jap imports.

I would like a manual. Now here is where I start asking questions...which is best 5 or 6 speed? I know with the Evo's the 5 speed boxes can take more power than the newer 6 speeds... is there any difference in strength on the Supra boxes?

I think I'd like a VVTI twin turbo motor... again with the Evo's the Mivec engine is a better stock engine but if you're going to modify it it's easier to go with the non Mivec. If I intend to play with the engine would I be better off staying away from variable valve timing?

I would like a newer facelift car.

I DO NOT want a fast and furious looking car with horrible garish body kits, giant wings, graphics, neons, painted interiors. I like to keep my cars stock looking, with the exception of some nice wheels and coilovers. I've been thinking BBS LM's or CCW classics.

I'm also not a fan of cars with big sound systems, with huuuge subs, holes cut in shelf for speakers, and car's with broken trim. I do like flip out stereo's and upgraded component speakers with that factory look.... maybe a little active 8" alpine sub to give it a little more depth but definitely something that can easily be removed....but that's it.