The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Coilovers.... fronts fitted

Scott

Phew, what a day i have had. Total noob to suspension so i took my time and tried to get it right first time.... i failed lol. Spent about 5 hours on it all in and only got the fronts done. My back is KILLING me. Oh well, hopefully it will all be worth it. Here is the breakdown of fitting them.

First Hour:

First problem i came across was trying to get the car lifted. It was so damn low that i couldn't get the scissor jack under it but after a bit of playing with my drive ramp i got there. 2nd problem i came accross was the fact that i lost my 3/4 drive 19mm socket and only had a 3/8 one. Needless to say, i broke 2 19mm sockets and 1 of them was while taking the wheel nuts off (damn apprentices using impact guns!).

2nd Hour:

I don't know about anyone else but i couldn't get the large 10" pin out without removing the mudguard and ABS sensor thing so after a bit of faffing about i realised this and went to it. I Managed to get the nuts off fairly easily because my springs were only changed in February so no need for penetrating fluid. I struggled a little with the small pin but got there in the end with some brute force. The spring assembly came out fairly easily, i didn't even need spring compressors.

3rd Hour:

Got the coilover in and with a bit of faffing about eventually got it all hooked up. I put all the bits back where they were but didn't finally tighten anything as i wasn't sure what height i would be at. I lowered the car off the jack and it was far too low so i lifted it back up again, took all the pints, bots etc back off and adjusted the height. I lowered it again and i was fairly happy so it was time to move onto the 2nd side.

4th Hour: