The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Crank Pulley

simbasupra

Due to my v-belt cracking and crankshaft seal leaking i am going to change the cambelt at the same time. Recently i have been hearing a bird chirping noise:) and fear it could be my crank pulley starting to go.

After having a search of old threads i still have a few questions for you guys.

1. If it was the crank pulley starting to go would the noise be constant? As It definately doesn't do it at idle or stationary reving it, and can only really hear it at lower speeds.

2. Going on previous threads i will be going for a new OEM crank pulley. Has anybody ever (chromed, power coated etc.) these. I'm not sure if this would be ok or it would affect the balance?

Thanks

Thought that would be the case:(, any thoughts on the 1st question?

I have no experience of a failed crank pulley yet! but i would be inclined to check its position in relation to the centre, as i have heard that one of the first signs apart from strange noises is that the outer part moves in or out.

I have no experience of a failed crank pulley yet! but i would be inclined to check its position in relation to the centre, as i have heard that one of the first signs apart from strange noises is that the outer part moves in or out.

Will have to have a better look. All i have done so far is watch the pulley when stationary for any movment and gave it a wiggle to see if there was any play in the pulley. Both seemed fine.

Thanks

*subscribed* I have a noise also and fear it may be the crank pully. I've already sourced another factory one just in case. Have you tried taking off the accessory belt and turning the engine over? I've heard (only heard not tested) this helps to eliminate all the accessory pullys and is not damaging if it's only done for a short period (water would not be pumped through the engine).