PDA

View Full Version : Pistonheads Scams


Angry Koala
15-05-08, 14:29
Following on from SupraLuke's "Does this sound odd" thread I thought I'd mention a scam on Pistonheads at the moment which they appear to be aware of but powerless to stop.

I clicked on the email for more info links on a Fiesta ST and a Civic Type R (to confirm to myself it was a scam not a bargain) both priced at £4500...... spot the difference in the replies (I had one sent to my personal email and one to work to make it seem like 2 different people were asking):

RE: '2004 54 HONDA CIVIC TYPE-R' at PistonHeads.com
Hi, I see you are interested of my car, first of all I have to tell you that the vehicle is in good condition, has no technical damage at all,no scratches or dents, no hidden defects, no smoking. It's fun and robust to drive. Technical inspection and emissions testing is passed and stamped as well.
It has title of ownership, cleared of any obligations or fees and comes with all the documents you need to register it. The reason I am selling the car is because I really have to not because I don't like it anymore.
I have worked in UK for the last 2 years and I've purchased the car there.
My company wanted me back home, so currently I'm in Rome, Italy.
I've bring the car home with me. I decided that is better to sell it
because I don `t use it anymore (the wheel is on right side and is very difficult for me to drive it in Italy) and it `s a pity to keep such a car and not to use it.
I realize that is a cheap price for such a car but my special situation makes me do things that I wouldn't do in normal circumstances.
The price I am looking for my car is £4500 including the shipping costs, insurance and handling (delivery to EUROPE).
You will not have to pay additional taxes for this.
The car has MOT and Road tax. Also has full service history and it is hpi cleared.
Please feel free to email me with any questions you may have.

Thank you

RE: '2004 54 FORD FIESTA ST' at PistonHeads.com
Hi, I see you are interested of my car, first of all I have to tell you that the vehicle is in good condition, has no technical damage at all,no scratches or dents, no hidden defects, no smoking. It's fun and robust to drive. Technical inspection and emissions testing is passed and stamped as well.
It has title of ownership, cleared of any obligations or fees and comes with all the documents you need to register it. The reason I am selling the car is because I really have to not because I don't like it anymore.
I have worked in UK for the last 2 years and I've purchased the car there.
My company wanted me back home, so currently I'm in Rome, Italy.
I've bring the car home with me. I decided that is better to sell it
because I don `t use it anymore (the wheel is on right side and is very difficult for me to drive it in Italy) and it `s a pity to keep such a car and not to use it.
I realize that is a cheap price for such a car but my special situation makes me do things that I wouldn't do in normal circumstances.
The price I am looking for my car is £4500 including the shipping costs, insurance and handling (delivery to EUROPE).
You will not have to pay additional taxes for this.
The car has MOT and Road tax. Also has full service history and it is hpi cleared.
Please feel free to email me with any questions you may have.

Thank you

Both are from a Martin Jym with a yahoo.com email addy.

Pistonheads have confirmed that any email request you submit should come back as @pistonheads.com rather than the user's own email provider so if you see anything like the above it should raise the alarm.....

Hope this prevents someone on here or someone you know losing money to a con-artist for a non-existent car.....

JustGav
15-05-08, 14:32
That is the old ebay scam as well...

'I have a car, I used to live in XXXX and now I want to sell' The big give away is the wording... Title of ownership (American terms). These are based on a template, lazy scammers can't even be bother to type their own scams these days, what happened to go ol' days.

dannysupratt
15-05-08, 14:36
what a looser one miniute he hates the car then he says it is nice, and his english is crap

supra_aero
15-05-08, 14:39
Do they really expect you to part with that much money without seeing it

Gazboy
15-05-08, 14:41
The classifieds are having a re-gig in the next few weeks, sellers will soon have to upload their VIN number to advertise their car, so hopefuly this should cut down a hell of a lot of scams.

If you are a member there is also a link in the top right hand corner to report scam adverts.

Gaz
(Pistonheads moderator)

ivan
15-05-08, 15:16
Why do you say PH are powerless to stop these?
All you've got to do is report the ad and they'll pull it, surely?

Gazboy
15-05-08, 15:23
Why do you say PH are powerless to stop these?
All you've got to do is report the ad and they'll pull it, surely?


1800 new adverts per day (second only to Autotrader)

supra_aero
15-05-08, 16:11
1800 new adverts per day (second only to Autotrader)

Never knew that! All the cars I look at have a max of 200 listed of a given model at any one time.

marbleapple
15-05-08, 16:29
what a looser one miniute he hates the car then he says it is nice, and his english is crap

Made me laugh.

garethr
15-05-08, 16:44
Made me laugh.If we're being pedantic... you missed two :)

EDIT: or three :)

ivan
15-05-08, 22:46
I make it four.

Jamesy
15-05-08, 23:07
The classifieds are having a re-gig in the next few weeks, sellers will soon have to upload their VIN number to advertise their car, so hopefuly this should cut down a hell of a lot of scams.

If you are a member there is also a link in the top right hand corner to report scam adverts.

Gaz
(Pistonheads moderator)

they have just started this mate - but i've found out you dont need your REAL vin number - you can type any old cr@p and it just goes through.... shame really as this is a good way to stop these pr!cks!

Gazboy
16-05-08, 01:07
they have just started this mate - but i've found out you dont need your REAL vin number - you can type any old cr@p and it just goes through.... shame really as this is a good way to stop these pr!cks!


Oh for f*ck sake. What's the point. :search:

Thanks.

Havard
16-05-08, 08:12
There are a couple of threads that have highlighted the scammers on PH. If the car looks too good to be true then it generally is. A lack of contact numbers or bullcrap about moving abraod is usually enough to realise it's a scam!!

H.

Jamesy
16-05-08, 09:40
Oh for f*ck sake. What's the point. :search:

Thanks.

Hi mate (just realised your a mod on there - great site by the way! ;) )

Yeah apparently if you just type in "eogrnavw" for example it just lets you by to the next option.

However as mentioned its usually EASY to tell a scammer. I saw a Mondeo ST220 on there for £3,000 the other day - obvious!

Apart from the odd tw@t on there (you get loads more on ebay and autotrader) the site is fan-dabby-doosie. Easy to navigate and good layout.

I always buy/sell on there now for my personal cars!!

Gazboy
16-05-08, 10:34
Will just told me this:

It is in a final testing phase at the moment, we are capturing and checking everyones VIN numbers, but we are not going to start rejecting based on it until we have confirmed that it works reliably