The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Wheels / Offsets????

Stratty

I was thinking of getting some new wheels for my Supe and after reading a few threads on here, there is a lot of mention about offsets.

First of all, what on earth does everyone mean by offsets?

Also, do I need to take offset into consideration if I want to put some 18 inch wheels on my Supe?

These may be daft questions but I am new to this game so need to be enlightened.

Ta very much.. :thumbs:

what are you doing with your (soon to be) old wheels?

I've obviously looked in your garage and having a facelift NA you may have the uk sized brakes on your car.........do you know if you do?

These brakes will make it crucial that the look at an alloys spec, including offset and face type on some alloys........

as said 50mm is standard offset, but many aftermarket wheels come in around 35-40mm.......front wheels with any sort of dish will usually not fit over the larger uk style calipers at near stock offsets, they may clear at lower offsets but this can cause arch rubbing issues and poor handling / tyre wear.

I mentioned 'face type' earlier and this is where the same type/model of alloy has different faces to allow caliper clearance.......so you can get a Face 1 type Volk blah blah blah with a 45mm offset that will clear the big calipers but a Face 2 type Volk Blah Blah Blah with the same 45mm offset won't......

Guest Quail

Surely a lower offset wheel will aid handling (wider track), and the tyre wear will be no different as long as they fit under the arches properly?

(You'd probably burn me at the stake if you knew what offsets I was running :taped:)