PDA

View Full Version : Gearbox oil??



SilverSoop
23-02-08, 18:24
Hi all, yep ive finally got her back yesterday thankgod and you wont believe this, but the noise is STILL there. The guys at gearlink have tried their hardest to fix the gearbox and found two faulty gears which they have now replaced. So He came to the conclusion that it must be the gearbox oil. This got me thinking, because my box is a 6spd tt Getrag box, i thought that it should use only V160 gearbox oil but instead, they filled it with 10w 40 which they believe is better oil because the viscosity inst as low and would last longer in lubricating the gearbox. So the question is, what gearbox oil does everyone use and do you think that would be causing the noise??
Because now, i can hardly hear the noise when shes cold but when she warm, i can hear it clearly like i could before. The guy has worked on gearboxes for 15 years plus and hes stumped!

johnd-mkiv
23-02-08, 18:46
I have just bought some v160 from wifbitz, I have read that they should only be run on it, not really worth the chance I guess.

uk-rich
23-02-08, 18:46
paul wiffin can still get the proper stuff, i had some of him the other day

you say 10w 40, that sounds like a motor oil spec:blink:

supra matt
23-02-08, 18:49
They filled it with 10w 40 what engine oil!!!!!!!!!!!:blink: if i were you i would not drive the car to hard or far as think you might do some damage to the box , I would stick with stock toyota oil mate cant go wrong then ;).

Supra-Brett
23-02-08, 19:25
The reason you cant hear the noise when its cold is because of the higher viscosity. Ive heard stories of rouge traders doing things like that in the past. Putting in mega thick oil to cover up problems/clanks.

If there is still a clanking noise, there must still be an issue, as they arnt meant to make noises. simple as that.

Not sure what the cause could be though. Hope you get it fixed.

miko_supra
23-02-08, 19:36
hmmm 10w40 doesnt sound right. i use 75w90 in my gearbox

Terminator
23-02-08, 19:40
Talk to Oilman there are a few very good alternatives to V160 oil, which is basically an ATF fluid.

tDR
23-02-08, 19:44
Moved to tech as requested.

10w40 engine oil is very much the wrong oil to use, I'd get it changed quick smart!

Cheers,

Brian.

Muffleman
23-02-08, 20:34
they filled it with 10w 40

:faint:

Gaz Walker
23-02-08, 20:44
:eek:

SilverSoop
23-02-08, 21:32
hmmm 10w40 doesnt sound right. i use 75w90 in my gearbox

Yeh thanks all, i know thats what i said to the guy at gearlink but he was adament that the type he uses, he puts in every gearbox hes dealt with! Well, this isnt a normal gearbox, and i said to him it should have v160 gearbox oil....:blink:

SilverSoop
23-02-08, 21:33
:eek:

Gaz, what gearbox oil would you use??

SilverSoop
23-02-08, 21:35
hmmm 10w40 doesnt sound right. i use 75w90 in my gearbox

Ok so because you use that type, not trying to sound silly but whats that like for your gearbox??

supra matt
24-02-08, 10:03
http://www.mkivsupra.net/vbb/showthread.php?t=56684

Here you go mate

AndyT
24-02-08, 10:20
Get the 10w 40 out mate it has no where near the correct properties to cope with the loads inflicted on it by gears meshing together. :(
PM oilman too.

SilverSoop
24-02-08, 16:51
Ok thanks guys, you have been a big help. Just one thing though, im going to get this oil out straightaway but do i have to drop the box to drain the oil or can it be done from being jacked up cos unfortunetely, i dont have a ramp to put her on. Oh yeh, does halfords or auto factors sell 75w 90 cos im going to put that in for the meantime until i get some v160 oil...

uk-rich
24-02-08, 17:01
the drain plug is at the bottom of the box

the fill plug is about half way up the side (passenger side)

SilverSoop
24-02-08, 17:05
the drain plug is at the bottom of the box

the fill plug is about half way up the side (passenger side)

Ok thanks rich, to fill it up do i need to drop the box slightly because it looks quite hard to get to especially if im trying to fill it up....

Gaz Walker
24-02-08, 17:21
If you can get the V160 fluid use that, otherwise use a good fully synthetic 75w90 (Motul, Silkoline etc) oil.

Gaz.

SilverSoop
24-02-08, 17:29
If you can get the V160 fluid use that, otherwise use a good fully synthetic 75w90 (Motul, Silkoline etc) oil.

Gaz.

Pm'd :)

supra matt
24-02-08, 21:04
to fill it up mate just pop the gear stick out allot easier then doing it from below .

SilverSoop
24-02-08, 23:19
to fill it up mate just pop the gear stick out allot easier then doing it from below .

Oh ok, is that an easy job? because i really dont like messing around with gearboxes too much as they have caused me a headache already!! :D

Jake
28-02-08, 11:46
to fill it up mate just pop the gear stick out allot easier then doing it from below .

Is that true? I want to top mine up for the new owner, as it has a weeping rear seal, but it's p!ssing down outside. It would be great if I could do it from inside the car.


Hang on a mo . . . how do you know the correct level if you're just chucking it in from above?
:confused:

captainchaos
28-02-08, 12:17
try opie oils got all the fluids for my car from them very helpful and got a good discount

gaz1
28-02-08, 20:31
Ok thanks guys, you have been a big help. Just one thing though, im going to get this oil out straightaway but do i have to drop the box to drain the oil or can it be done from being jacked up cos unfortunetely, i dont have a ramp to put her on. Oh yeh, does halfords or auto factors sell 75w 90 cos im going to put that in for the meantime until i get some v160 oil...

i got v160 oil from mr wiffin the very next day i ordered;)

supra matt
28-02-08, 20:40
Is that true? I want to top mine up for the new owner, as it has a weeping rear seal, but it's p!ssing down outside. It would be great if I could do it from inside the car.


Hang on a mo . . . how do you know the correct level if you're just chucking it in from above?
:confused:

Just renew the lot Jake then just add what it takes to fill it up again . ;)

redsupratt6spd
28-02-08, 22:37
all the usa guys are using royal purple in there box's said it's the bees knees ,oil has came a long way.

nigelboyne
14-01-09, 19:16
atf only in the getrag box v160 is made by exon eg esso mobil and is superseeded now mobil fully synthetic atf is the stuff or even toyota atf type iv is ok also by mobil

j1mb0b1
14-01-09, 19:30
Yeah i have Toyota ATF type iv in mine and its fine :D

edge
14-01-09, 19:59
Oh ok, is that an easy job? because i really dont like messing around with gearboxes too much as they have caused me a headache already!! :D

Have you done the simple check to see if you have an aftermarket flywheel yet?

drlee
11-05-09, 21:25
dont mean to be rude,but is the engine running dead level,my 160 box used to rattle terrible on idle jus because of a slight :offpot:,sorted that and sounds sweet,, d

Homer
11-05-09, 22:11
dont mean to be rude,but is the engine running dead level,my 160 box used to rattle terrible on idle jus because of a slight :offpot:,sorted that and sounds sweet,, d

Please stop bumping old threads!

Silversoop sold his car some months ago.