The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Winter driving tips

Guigsy

There seems to be a lot of new members arround the club at the moment so i thaught this would be a good idea to reduce the ammount of crashed sups we see at this time of year.

Im sure its been covered before but best to start a fresh thread.

Escpecialy as its been about 6deg all day today...

This is my first winter in a rwd car after driving the NA all year ive just got my TT auto.

So then chaps. lets hear the tips. Keep it serious guys so people dont have to filter out the crap to get usefull info.

What else do you need to know apart form less right foot?

TC off? TC on?

I have a UK spec and the TC is better. So i still leave it on on a slippery service?

Do i drive in manual mode keeping it in a higher gear and off boost? Im a bit of a noob when it comes to RWD cars on the slippy stuff especialy an auto.

snow + supra = nooo its very difficult and gets annoying as you pootle along at 5mph and sliding down roads ive experienced it first hand its really shitty!

oh yeah as mentioned good tyre tread is a must too

Excuse the silly question but since I only had the Supra 2 days I am still not that clued up yet.

How do you know if your TC is on or off only I don't see any lights come on or off on the dash when I press mine at all??

Thank you

Stamp on the loud peddle....if you shit your Y-Fronts its off. :D

Pay extra attetnion for all the arseholes out there that dont know how to drive and make sure you leave a bigger gap between you and the car infront had many people just brake harsh infront of me cuz they nearly missed there turning or just people who can't bloody brake properly at all.

How come similarly powered Beemers can drive okay in the snow?

Iv just started working at BMW and thats one of the qs i asked and they said that the bmw traction control & technology in the newer car is so advanced etc etc.

Going for a ride in a new M6 tomorrow :D will see how that goes on the greasy roads.