The mkiv Supra Owners Club

newbie looking advice

Guest francisjoss

Guest francisjoss

Hi, all

first off hello, great site loads of info, some off the cars look amazing

Im new to the supra world, been dreaming of getting one for a long time now, going to go for it and get me one

But have a few questions,

The big question for me is what type to go for, automatic or manual, TT or N/A. I have never had a RWD car before and the quickest car I have owned was a Renault 19 16V with full straight through S/S exhaust with K&N system

So any advice or tips when looking for a supra or what the best model to start off in would be great

also is there a big difference between auto and manual when it comes to fuel consumption

I was wondering about insurance over here, does anyone have any experience with insurance in N.Ireland for Supra’s especially if it’s a jap import

any help you could give would be fantastic

Thanks

Fra

:welcome: Manual all the way... auto drivers are boring and lazy!! :p

as for power TT is obviously gona be your first choice unless like me you cant afford a good example manual TT....

i had audi a3 1.8T quattro 180bhp b4 my n/a and i love it!!!! but the extra bhp is needed!!!!!!!!!!!

go for a TT, there is not much difference between the 2 for insurance! :innocent:

check with insurance companies first, some people have been having issues of late.

but once that is sorted, TT manual all the way.

NA drivers want more power, so look at turbos

TT autos want more driveable car, so look at manuals

TT manuals sit there looking pretty :D

commence the flaming :p

Guest francisjoss

cheers

would love a manual TT all the way, money isnt too much off an issue i suppose will have about £5K to 6K spend

but will def have to check insurance companies over here its very hard to insure imports,

are most good examples all imports?

Guest Nicholas
cheers