The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Fibre Glassing

Daston

Anyone good at fibre glassing? I have a crack on my topsecret front splitter and the under tray has come away on one side. How hard would this be to fix as a DIY job? However I have no idea about fibre glassing and have never tried it so some pointers would be most helpful.

I have done a little but im no professional

If its a split/crack then thats loads easier to do

If its somewhere that carries a little weight then just make sure that you key in very well to the original material (rub down and get it as rough as possible - there may be some sort of thing that you can buy to assist the keyin in? (chemical wise) if you can not see the area I would fibre glass some small support brackets in - maybe pop rivet into place and then glass over

Dirt and dust free etc.. basic stuff but its a start :o)

Guest CoolsBlue

i wouldnt just fibreglass over a crack, what i do is, grind down the crack so the area around is really thin and the crack is just a gap in the middle from gridning, then fibreglass from the back and front, grind down the front to get a decent shape then fill the front and smooth, id remove the bumper to do it if i was you

Cool cheers for the advice!

Dosnt sound too bad the bumper will be removed as I plan to fit my wings around the same time. Any idea where I can get a fiber glasing kit? The worse part is the where the under tray has come off of the side as this has made the bumper flex out would it be ok to bond it back in and use G-clamps to hold it together until it sets?

Guest CoolsBlue