The mkiv Supra Owners Club

2001 supra engine with tiptronic gearbox?

Guest WJX808

Guest WJX808

Hey guys,

Just need ur advice and opinion...One of my colleague just purchased a supra a 1993 model...however, he claims that his engine is from a 2001 model supra!! is there one?? I have been using my 96 supra for 6 years now and i have not heard of a 2001 model supra. All i know is supra ended their production in 1997 and although some models were sold in 1998, those are leftovers from the 1997 models.

Also, is there any tiptronic gearbox for a toyota supra? Im really shocked when i heard abt it? Does it comes standard or do you have to modify it from another car's gearbox?

Thanks guys

yup facelift autos post 97 had a trip box as standard.

they still made the supe in japan until 2001ish, but in v limited numbers.

also toyota still do brand new parts, so theoretically you could build a 2007 engine if you wanted too, itd cost a bob or two tho.

doesnt necessary mean your friend isnt talking poo about his particular engine tho.

Facelift autos were not tiptronic as standard.

Late 97 onwards VVTi autos may have been, although I'm not sure about that.

no shit, i own one! lol

they did facelift non vvti/trip 96-97,

97 on they ONLY did facelift vvti/trip.

i said 97 facelift autos were trip as std, not all facelift autos.

been trying to find the exact date of switch to vvti/trip at factory, i always thought it was jan97 as the facelift non trip bracket was 8/9 months.

id be interested to see what the earliest vvti/trip car and latest non vvti/auto facelift are in the club.

i said 97 facelift autos were trip as std, not all facelift autos.

VVTi facelift didn't come out until the end of 97 (Aug/Sep) so technically you can't say all '97 facelifts were standard packaged tips.

the switch to vvti happened at same time as the switch to trip,

I'm confused and my head hurts.

So there are some non VVTi tips then?

getting back on topic... ;)