PDA

View Full Version : Feck - am I being scammed on fleabay


SteveL
28-05-07, 09:49
Hmmm, am I about to be scammed....?

Received this email from 'paypal' this morning after selling a phone to a user registered in Ireland.....

---------------------------------------------------------------
***ATTENTION***
Paypal customer care will like to infom you that payment for your ebay item #xxxxxxxxxxx bought from you by Linda Matins has been APPROVED, you CAN NOW ship the merchandise to the buyer's shipping address. You are expected to make the shipment within 24 hours of receiving this Payment Approval Notification and get back to our Costumer/Technical Dept. with the Tracking Number for Shippment Verification.
***PLEASE NOTE***
THE BUYER OF THIS ITEM HAS REQUESTED THIS ITEM TO BE SHIPPED TO THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS BELOW BUYER SHIPPING INFORMATION:
Postal Shipping Address:

K. AMADI
22,GEORGE STREET
SHOMOLU
LAGOS STATE
234001
NIGERIA
Confirmed
The funds will NOT be Credited into your account until the shipment has been verified. This measure is taken in order to protect both seller and buyer interests and to reduce the occurrence of fraudulent activities.
****PLEASE NOTE***
Due to the fact that PAYPAL processes thousands of orders daily, paypal RECOMMENDS contacting the Customer Support Representative that has been assigned to this particular Order directly. This ensures speedy verification of shipment as well as prompt transfer of the funds to your account. Send shippment tracking details to : online.customercare@email.com

Your funds will be transfered by Paypal to : xxxxxxx

If you do not have paypal account your payment will be delivered to the Underlisted Address:
POSTAL ADDRESS: NOT SPECIFIED
You can give the buyer of your auction item the TRACKING NUMBER of the shipment and once he/she verifies the shipment, he/she will also notify us immediately.
*CUSTOMER SUPPORT*
If you have any questions, Please feel free to contact the Customer Support Representative that has been assigned to this particular Order at: online.customercare@email.com

The "official" PayPal corporate offices are at:
Centennial Hall 128
1000 S. Franklin
Kirksville, MO 63501
Thank you for using paypal ® . We look forward serving your online auction payment needs in the future.
Sincerely,
Gene Braint
Paypal Customer Care,
-------------------------------------------------------------


I've checked who owns the @email.com domain and its locked and registered to someone in the USA.

From my point of view, I'm not shipping this and have contacted ebay to review the situation .

The buyer has also doubled the postal payment for some reason ?!

Has anyone else seen/had this ?

JustGav
28-05-07, 09:50
Dude,

Nigeria....

Big scam...

I had something similar when I sold a phone... The bloke asked for a tracking number, and fair dues actually checked the one I sent him... He sent me an email asking when I was going to send him the real tracking number, my response was 'When you send the money'

Mike
28-05-07, 09:52
The domain 'email.com' used to be owned by Lycos I think... I had an address there many moons again..

..but yes, this is a blatant scam.

SteveL
28-05-07, 09:53
Dude,

Nigeria....

Big scam...

I had something similar when I sold a phone... The bloke asked for a tracking number, and fair dues actually checked the one I sent him... He sent me an email asking when I was going to send him the real tracking number, my response was 'When you send the money'

...thought so, did you resell on ebay?
Did they try and force the sale or did ebay do anything?

flukey-lukey
28-05-07, 10:06
I had exactly the same when I sold a phone on ebay not long ago. They paid more than double what the phone was worth, asked for a tracking number and said more or less everything in that e-mail you got. I ignored it and sold the phone to a friend instead

SteveL
28-05-07, 10:20
I had exactly the same when I sold a phone on ebay not long ago. They paid more than double what the phone was worth, asked for a tracking number and said more or less everything in that e-mail you got. I ignored it and sold the phone to a friend instead

... think I'll just ignore it.... just got another email saying they're pleased to be doing business and await the tracking no!

tempted to blast an email back - but also don't think I can be bothered!

Supose I could advertise it on here :-)

Thorin
28-05-07, 10:30
Fake e-mail. Just tell them you still haven't received the money and try and string em along ;)

part_timer
28-05-07, 11:27
yep its a scam!
have a look at this for some ideas on what to do then post up your reults here!

http://www.419eater.com/

Pig
28-05-07, 11:33
No point trying to sell a phone on ebay. They just buy them all :( mine was worth about £40 and went for £200 - its just a waste of time

toyotasuprauk
28-05-07, 11:40
Like Pig says the Nigerians always buy all the phones on ebay! The exact same thing happened to me it was a fake paypal payment. The annoying thing is that’s probably the real fraudsters address if the police over there were any good they could probably do something with that.

SteveL
28-05-07, 13:44
Cheers for the replys guy's - didn't realise this was such a scammable system!
I've used ebay for years for buying, but just started to use it to sell a couple of things - reckon I'll stick them on here .... as most of us are honest :-o