The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Decatting UK mkiv

Guest thechappers

Guest thechappers

Hi everyone,

This is my first message on this forum. I've owned supras for ages, I had a mkiii for 5/6 years and I've had my mkiv for just over 2 years. (and a few supra toy models too if that counts!)

My supra is a UK automatic, and has no modifications except a badly fitted aftermarket exhaust (installed before me owning the car) and a Blitz turbo timer/LCD boost gauge (I installed).

The exhaust looks like some pipes welded together with a fancy end nozzle welded on, with no back boxes! Anyhow I've been planning to change it for ages and now the nozzle weld has come undone and its hanging. So its time to decat and sort it out properly!

I've had some minor experience with my mkiii DIY wise, but I have a few worries for decatting the mkiv.

1. I'm planning to get the Greddy BCC, which I believe is a device that is vehical specific, so will it work on the UK supra? Or is it just for the Japanese spec? Has any of the UK owners on the forum fitted the Greddy?

2. Is it ok to not install the cat o2 heat sensor on the UK spec? I presume having no cats means its pretty irrelevant, but perhaps it has some additional uses.

3. Has anyone been stopped/tested for emissions on the street or is my only worry the MOT?

4. Should I do a double decat with restrictor ring, or single decat?

I'm hoping to get whifbitz exhaust and pipes with the cat back being Blitz Nur Spec R. I'm also hoping to change the spark plugs.

I'm probably making a mountain out of a mole hill over this, but I'm aware the turbos are different on the UK and Japs, and so I want to make sure everything will fit and work together correctly.

Any advice on UK decatting would be gratefully recieved (I'm mainly finding US/Jap advice)

Many thanks to all!

the chappers

mkiv automatic TT 1995