The mkiv Supra Owners Club

mushroom filters are good or bad

morpheus1870

Whats the score with a hks mushroom filters/induction kit, are they any good? What kind of difference do they make to the cars breathing and can they cause any harm to the car?

I currently have one fitted to the car I'm buying (95 na manual), is it worth replacing for a standard unit? and if so where can i get one from?

Has anyone experimented with one of these inducion kits and what was your verdict?

Sorry if this has been posted in the past but I am a newbie lol

thanks all in advance

yeah go back to stock if you can, the hks ones are a bit crappy at filtration and let stones etc get by pretty easily. alternatives are the apexi and the blitz sus though which are good and sound very nice too.

On a NA i wouldn't be as worried as with a TT, they are not the best at filtering smaller particles than can cause damaged to the turbo's etc.. If I remember right, do a search and there is a thread with pics of tests of different filters and the HKS came out worst..

There was an old Jap review on the net that showed the HKS were crap at filtration as said above, the Apexi matched it in terms of airflow and destroyed it in terms of filtration - I replaced an HKS one for an Apexi in my old car.