The mkiv Supra Owners Club

HOW TO GUIDE - Dying your carpet Black

M4RK RZ

HOW TO GUIDE

Dying your Supra Carpet (Black)

A few people asked if I would knock up a 'HOW TO' guide on dying your supra carpet when I did my own. I hope that this helps some people along - im no expert, but do know when something works well, as did this process.

All it takes is a little will power to do it ! A very simple task indeed.

1) Remove the 2 seats. This is done by locating 8 bolts (4 per seat) Some of the bolt heads will be covered by plastic grey trim, in which case use a flat blade screwdriver to pop off the clips. Ensure if you have electronic integrated seat accessories that you dis-connect he cables. Removing the seats takes approx 20 mins taking it easy.

Then you will have this, if not ......... you forgot to take them out.

2) Next remove the lower seat belt bolts and the plastic 'pozi' fasteners in the foot wells. Also remove the drivers foot rest - there are 2 plastic discs on its surface, twist these untill the pegs are released. The rear seats need to be lifted slightly to get to further fastener clips on the edge of the carpet - a brisk sharp pull upwards on the front edge of the rear lower seat pops the 2 securing U shaped metal clips from the car to provide access. Do not worry about doing this - it simply pushes back in after.

Last of all remove the centre console by taking out the gear stick dash panel and looking for the securing screws - same at other end.

Remove the plastic trim the carpet tucks under around the door area (this pops off too) and then slowly tempt the carpet side clips form the metal edge.

And to be honest - that’s the hard bit done!

3) Cleaning the carpet.