The mkiv Supra Owners Club

Wheel polishing guide

Cable

Just thought I'd put up a quick guide on alloy wheel polishing for people who are thinking of doing the same.

I've never done anything like this before except for the time I tried to do some ally polishing back at school. Anyway I bought some second hand BBS LM's off a good chap off this forum. The wheels themselves were pretty much undamaged, with only a few small marks around the edge. The reason I polished them was because there was a substantial amount of salt corrosion on the polished/diamond cut lip. Photo attached will show what they were like, the rears were quite a bit worse than the fronts.

Firstly I browsed the web for a polishing mop. After looking at few sites I purchased a 'Non Ferrous metal polishing kit' from Tooledup.com. This included a stitched buff and polishing compound for initial polishing and a unstitched buff and glossing compound for a nice shiney finish. I will say however that I found the unstitched buff a little useless for my application as you couldn't put enough pressure on the surface to achieve anything, so I suggest that a single stitched buff is more than adequate. While I was on the site I also looked to purchase some wet and dry paper of various grades but found that it was quite expensive and in packs more than I required.

The wet and dry paper I bought from Halfords. I got a pack of each of the following grades, 240, 400, 800 and 1200, these came in packs of four sheets which was more than enough to do the job. Time for the hard work...

BBS before1.JPG

I unfortunately decided to do this during mid winter when it was staying below freezing most of the day, so wrapped up warm (long johns included :D ) I ventured outside with a warm bucket of water to 1: to keep the wet and dry paper unclogged and 2: to stop my hands from getting frostbite.